Get Licensed to Grow Hemp in VA
Hemp licenses in Virginia are available for grower, dealer and processor registration. For more details about the registration process and laws associated with compliant hemp, read the Registration Guide. It’s highly recommended that you read this before submitting your application.
Industrial Hemp Grower Registration
For growers, you need to fill out the Industrial Hemp Grower Registration Application and pay the $50 application fee. “Growers” are defined as those seeking to plant, cultivate, or harvest industrial hemp.
There are additional documents required for growers. They include:
- Production Field Updates: in case you need to make changes to your production field. This requires completion of the Industrial Hemp Registration Change form.
- Planting Report: registered growers must send this within 14 calendar days of planting seeds, clones, or cuttings. This requires completion of the Industrial Hemp Planting and Propagation Report.
- Agent Documentation: the Agent Documentation for Growers form is for each individual who serves as an agent in helping you grow industrial hemp.
Research Reports are no longer required.
Industrial Hemp Dealer Registration
Becoming a “Dealer” requires submitting the Industrial Hemp Dealer Registration Application form and paying the $50 application fee.
An industrial hemp dealer is any registered individual who buys state and federal-compliant hemp to sell to compliant processors. Or they sell the industrial hemp to individuals who plan to sell the hemp to compliant processors.
To get the coordinates of your dealership location(s), review the Coordinate Location Guide here. It provides clear, visual instructions for getting your production field(s) information from Google Maps or an app called Compass.
If you wish to have an Agent help with dealing industrial hemp, check out the Agent Documentation for Dealers form here.
Industrial Hemp Processor Registration
To become an Industrial Hemp Processor, complete the Industrial Hemp Processor Registration Application and pay the $50 application fee.
A “processor” is defined as any individual who converts industrial hemp into hemp product. Hemp products include “rope, building materials, automobile parts, animal bedding, animal feed, cosmetics, oil containing an industrial hemp extract, or food or food additives for human consumption.”
If you need to add or change the location of your processing site for registration, complete the Industrial Hemp Registration Change Form.
And if you require an agent to serve as a processor, submit a Agent Documentation for Processors form.
Sampling and Testing Hemp in Virginia
The Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) conducts random THC testing and does not require pre-harvest testing. Here’s what to keep in mind if your harvest is selected for testing:
- You won’t be charged for the laboratory testing fees
- VDACS inspector will reach out for inspection scheduling
- Don’t harvest your hemp until the inspector acquires a sample
THC levels must test below 0.3% on a dry weight basis. Otherwise, it must be destroyed at your cost. The Commissioner must approve and verify the method for destruction. And they may inform local law enforcement of the results.
Next Steps to Grow CBD Hemp in Virginia
Once you’ve determined the type of license(s) you wish to purchase, mail in the form and $50 application fee to:
P.O. Box 526
Richmond, VA 23218
To make the payment, write your check to the Treasurer of Virginia. Next up is acquiring your plants and feminized hemp seeds.
Buying hemp seeds or cuttings outside of Virginia won’t jeopardize your registration with VDACS. It’s recommended that you check the THC testing results when applicable. If you choose to buy seeds, cuttings and clones within Virginia, they must come from a registered license holder.
Hemp Commercial Sale Requirements
Keep these in mind when selling hemp products. The items listed below can only be sold to other registered license holders:
- Planting seeds or clones
- Flowers or buds
- Leaf material/micro greens
The list of items below can be sold to anyone legally. So they don’t require a license or registration with the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services:
- Mature stalks
- Fiber produced from mature stalks
- Seed oil or seed cake
- Any compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of the mature stalk,
fiber, oil, or cake
- Sterilized seed that is incapable of germination
- Hemp-derived extract, including hemp-derived CBD oil
If you want to make sales over state lines, VDACS recommends that you seek legal advice. Law enforcement has varying responses to interstate sale of hemp products. Overall, your actions will not affect your registration.
Buy Virginia Feminized Hemp Seeds
Virginia hemp farmers do well by buying feminized hemp seeds from reputable companies. Buying seeds from us limits the possibility of growing plants with excessive THC. Too much THC and male plants will cost you, so skip the hassle and buy CBD-dominant feminized hemp seeds from us.
If you need help with making a decision, reach out to us here for a consultation.
Read on for more details on Virginia’s Regulatory Plan for industrial hemp production.
You must log in and be a buyer of this item to submit a review.
Leave a reply Cancel reply
|Post Excerpt / Short Description||Hemp licenses in Virginia are available for grower, dealer and processor registration. For more details about the registration process and laws associated with compliant hemp, read the Registration Guide. It’s highly recommended that you read this before submitting your application.|